Skip to Content.
Sympa Menu

Listes de diffusion pour les réseaux de Pierre Calame

Editing or deleting documents in the shared document web space

In addition to uploading and downloading documents, you can also act on files and folders that are already online:

Changing access rights

You can change read and/or write access rights to folders and files. This has several advantages:

You are allowed to change access rights only to documents you uploaded or created yourself on the lists (one exception: list owners can change access rights to any document published on the lists; this does not concern moderators).

To change access rights for a document, click on the 'Access' text in front of the document's name, in the 'Access' column. You are brought to the access rights editing page.

Choose options from the drop-down lists 'Read access' and 'Edit access'.

Though it isn't mentionned in any of the options, note that the document owner (most of the time the person that published it) keeps the write and read rights on this document whatever happens (unless the list owner changes the document owner).

You can also change the document's owner, for example to allow another person to edit it online, or to indicate the actual author of a document if it has been published by someone else.

Editing folders, files or bookmarks

To edit a document, click on the 'Edit' text in front of the document's name in the 'Edit' column.

According to the type of document you edit, you have different possibilities:

Any click on a button related to an input box only validates the changes specified in that box. To make several changes, you need to click on each button corresponding to your choices.

Some buttons immediately bring you back to the page of the folder containing the document, while others perform the update without bringing you to another page. To go back to the folder page without changing anything, click on the 'Up to higher level directory' button.

Deleting folders, files or bookmarks

To delete any type of document, click on the 'Delete' text in front of the document's name in the 'Delete' column. A confirmation message displays in order to let you go back on your decision: once deleted, the document will not be retrievable anymore.

If there is no 'Delete' text in front of the document's name, you do not have write access rights to the document.

It is impossible to delete a folder which still contains documents: before deleting a folder, you need to empty it entirely first.

Top of Page